LibGuides: Health and Wellness: Fitness

Available in the Library:

These books, along with other titles, can be found in the Reference and circulating section of the Library. Click on the cover to view the book in Amazon. Click on the title to go to the record in the Library Online Catalog.

ACSM's career and business guide for the fitness professional by Neal Pire.
Call Number: GV 481.4 .P57 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook by Laura Larsen
Call Number: REF GV 436 .F53 2011
Fitness for Dummies by Suzanne Schlosberg
Call Number: RA 781 .S274 2011
The Official Gold's Gym Beginner's Guide to Fitness : the Authority on Fitness Since 1965 by David Porter
Call Number: GV 481 .P59 2005
Walking the Walk: Getting Fit with Faith
Call Number: RA 781.65 .S233 2007

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.

Suggested Websites

Here are some links that will help you as you research diet, exercise and physical fitness.

Active.com
Emphasis is on sports. Information is collected from health-oriented publications and material is available on each sport on topics including news, training and gear.
Calculate Your Body Mass Index (BMI)
Produced by the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.
ExRx
"A free resource for the exercise professional, coach, or fitness enthusiast featuring comprehensive exercise libraries, fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles.
Get Moving
The fitness website of the American Heart Association. Information on diet, physical activity and cardiovascular health is provided. Free registration.
Mayo Clinic: Fitness
Useful and up-to-date information and tools realted to fitness.
The President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
PCFSN acts as a catalyst to promote healthy lifestyles through fitness, sports and nutrition programs and initiatives that educate, empower and engage Americans of all ages, backgrounds and abilities.

Specialized Search Engines

Many of the Suggested Websites (above) also have embedded search engines on their sites.

MedlinePlus: Sports Fitness

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here are some fitness and exercise associations and organizations that may be of interest to you.

Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD)
AAHPERD’s mission is to promote and support leadership, research, education, and best practices in the professions that support creative, healthy, and active lifestyles.
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
This site is for both professionals and the public. It describes the profession and standards, and answers questions from patients.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
Strives to lead strategic public health efforts to prevent and control obesity, chronic disease, and other health conditions though regular physical activity and good nutrition.
National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)
The worldwide authority on strength and conditioning. NSCA supports and disseminates research-based knowledge and its practical application to improve athletic performance and fitness.