LibGuides: Health and Wellness: Alternative Medicine

Available in the Library

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

Alternative Medicine: The Christian Handbook by Donal O'Mathuna
Call Number: REF R 733 .O48 2006
Complete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs, 2011 by H. Winter Griffith
Call Number: REF RM 301.15 .G75 2011
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2011 by Stephen J. McPhee
Call Number: REF RC 71 .C87 2011
Encyclopedia of Homeopathy by Andrew Lockie
Call Number: REF RX 41 .L625 2006
Mayo Clinic Book of Alternative Medicine by Brent A. Bauer
Call Number: REF R 733 .M386 2010
PDR for Herbal Medicines by Thomson Healthcare
Call Number: REF RS 164 .P375 2007

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.

Suggested Websites

Here are some links to assist you when researching complementary and alternative medicines (CAM).

American Botanical Council
An independent, nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information for consumers, healthcare practitioners, researchers, educators, industry and the media.
Drug Information Online
Provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drugs@FDA
Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA): Complementary and Alternative Medicine Products and their Regulation by the Food and Drug Administration
more...less...
This is a DRAFT document at this time. The use of CAM has increased in the United States. The FDA has seen increased confusion as to whether certain products used in CAM are subject to regulation under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act or Public Health Service Act. The FDA has also seen an increase in the number of CAM products imported into the United States. Therefore, they are providing guidance as to when a CAM product is subject to the Act or the PHS Act.
Herb World News Online
Produced by the Herb Research Foundation, it provides international information, news and research.
Herbal Safety
A website produced by the University of Texas. Its purpose is to outline the potential medicinal properties of certain herbs and to alert both health care providers, as well as the public, about the possible risks pertaining to the use of a particular herb, as well as to the potential interactions a herbal preparation may have, if taken concurrently with a certain medication or other herbs.
MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Medicine
THis website is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It supplies links to alternative and complementary sites, FAQ's, statistics and multimedia, amongst other resources.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Center for Homeopathy
The National Center for Homeopathy (NCH) is the organizing body for homeopathic medicine in the U.S.
Office of Dietary Supplements
THe ODS is a department of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). "The mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population."
World Health Organization (WHO): Legal Status of Traditional Medicine and Complementary/Alternative Medicine: A Worldwide Review
Worldwide recognition and regulation of traditional and complementary/alternative medicine vary considerably from country to country. The WHO produced this 2001 document to provide information on the legal status of traditional and complementary/alternative medicine in a number of countries.

Specialized Search Engines

Many of the Suggested Websites (above) also have embedded search engines on their sites.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine Blogs, Podcast and RSS Directories

Alternative and Complementary Therapies Podcasts
This list shows the latest available CAM podcasts .
C.A.M. Report
"Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Fair, Balanced, and to the Point."

RSS Feed

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here is a listing of organizations that are affiliated with complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.

American Academy of Medical Acupuncture
The purpose of the American Academy of Medical Acupuncture® is to promote the integration of concepts from traditional and modern forms of acupuncture with Western medical training and thereby synthesize a more comprehensive approach to health care.
American Association of Homeopathic Pharmacists
The AAHP functions as a trade association within the homeopathic pharmaceutical industry.
American Association of Professional Hypnotherapists (AAPH)
AAPH provides industry news and information, hypnotherapy information, business information and support, and technical business resources.
American Botanical Council
An independent, nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information for consumers, healthcare practitioners, researchers, educators, industry and the media.
American Chiropractic Association (ACA)
The ACA promotes a positive public image of chiropractic, supports research, provides professional and educational opportunities for doctors of chiropractic, and offers leadership for the advancement of the profession.
American Massage Therapy Association
The largest non-profit, professional association serving massage therapists, massage students and massage schools, with more than 56,000 members.
Reflexology Association of America
Professional association of reflexologists. Provides history, standard of ethics, articles and information about the profession.