Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases will be useful to you in your research:
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at VFCC. It contains 23 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Within EBSCOhost you will find such databases as: Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete, Humanities Source, MAS Ultra-School Edition, the APA databases (PsycArticles, PsycBooks, PsycCritiques, PsycExtra, and PsycInfo), SocINDEX, as well as e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Contains analytical essays (both classic criticism and original analysis) on authors, works, and themes central to literary study.
Available in the SRC
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference and circulating section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog.
Literary Criticism Websites
Although free literary criticism websites are few, here are some links that will help you as you research. Note: please also check the American Lit and English Lit Internet Resources tabs for additional sites.
The Paris Review has interviewed playwrights, novelists, poets and artists for the last sixty years. They have recently made available all of their interviews online and viewing is free. This is a valuable source when conducting research in literary criticism.