Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Today's Document from the National Archives
Every day the National Archives posts a new primary document corresponding to that day in history:
BackStory is a public radio program & podcast that brings historical perspective to the events happening around us today. On each show, renowned U.S. historians tear a topic from the headlines and plumb its historical depths.
US History Online Resources
National Archives and Records Administration
The nation's record keeper holds the records of the United States Federal government. You have online access to art works, census data, US legal manuscripts, the Federal Register and numerous other materials.
The Library of Congress provides free and open access to historic maps, photos, documents, audio, and video from their collection.
This is the definitive collection of everything the Smithsonian Museum has to offer. Search over 2 million records with images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
The American Presidency Project
This archives contain 88,543 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
History by Era from the Gilder Lehrman Institute
Introductions to different time periods are followed by essays by leading scholars; primary sources with images, transcripts, and a historical introduction; multimedia presentations by historians and master teachers; interactive presentations; and lesson plans and other classroom resources.
The PBS American Experience series has over 200 films about American history, many of which are available in full episodes online.
Common-Place is an interactive journal of Early American Life, from colonization to 1900. The articles are contributed by scholars, educators, curators, archivists, and librarians, and covers topics from politics to manners. They consider themselves to be "a bit friendlier than a scholarly journal."
A digital library of documents in law, history and diplomacy, from ancient documents to today.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
This website from the University of Missouri School of Law has chronologies, primary documents, and much more on many famous trials in history. While not all of these trials are from American history, most are and range from the Salem Witchcraft Trials, through John Brown, Scopes "Monkey," Mississippi Burning, Clinton Impeachment trials, and many more.
Online Exhibits from the National Women's History Museum
The National Women's History Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history. They have quite a few in depth online exhibits on various topics in women's history.
This website from the Biography channel has over 200 biographical documentaries on famous people.
American President: A Reference Resource
This website from the Miller Center from the Univeristy of Virginia is a nonpartisan institute that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation's governance challenges.
US History by Crash Course
This webseries is an educational YouTube Channel that summarizes US History in 10-12 minute segments. It's a great way to review certain topics in US history.