Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Fine Arts Guide!
You can use this guide when doing research in the field of Fine Arts. For resources in the Music field, go to our Music LibGuide.
Don't forget you can also make an appointment with a librarian for some more research help! Stop by the SRC, call (610) 917-2001, or send us an e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org to set up an appointment for help with research.
The Arts and Sciences Department uses The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th edition. More information on MLA Style can be found here.
The following databases will provide useful information for your research in Fine Arts:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal platform at VFCC. It contains 25 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases.
Within EBSOChost are Academic Search Complete, eBooks Academic Collection, Music Index, and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
All of these may be useful to you depending which Fine Arts topic you are researching.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Listen to more than 43,000 CDs and 616,000 tracks of music. Over 500 CDs are added each month.
Naxos Music Library - Jazz This link opens in a new window
Listen to more than 100,000 tracks of jazz music, over 9,000 albums and 32,000 artists.
Naxos Sheet Music This link opens in a new window
This resource provides free access to over 45,000 sheet music titles to download and print.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition) and several new Oxford resources.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and film-making. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.