Skip to main content

Biblical Interpretation: Christianity Texts Online

This LibGuide is for undergraduate students in ministry disciplines. This guide is designed to help you understand the basic resources for Bible research available through the SRC and from reputable online sources.

William G. Squires Virtual Theological Library

William G. Squires Virtual Library

 

Early Church Fathers

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Ante-Nicene Fathers
This site offers the searchable full-text of the writings of Ante-Nicene Fathers down to A.D. 325.

Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers – St. Augustine and St. Chrysostom

Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers – Series Two

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives

The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives

Comprehensive Sites

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library (maintained by Calvin College) is a virtual playground for theological study. Its major goal is to digitize all relevant sources available in public domain. There are even some free audio downloads of selected classics.
Have questions? For FAQ’s go to: FAQ

Online Books Page
These are full-text, stable format books that are legally available online at no charge. You can search by author, title or subject.

Biblical Texts and Studies

Bible Research
Holds information on canon, texts and versions of the Bible.

More Websites:

NewAdvent.org - The Fathers of the Church
In addition to Church Fathers resources, this Catholic website contains other comprehensive, digitized information and links.

EarlyChristianWritings.com
Contains a chronological listing of writings, plus a number of helpful links, including e-Catena: (Compiled Allusions to the NT in the Ante-Nicene Fathers) as well as links to other resources for Apocrypha and Gnosticism.

ICLnet.org – Guide to Early Church Documents
This site includes canonical information, some writings of Apostolic Fathers, creeds and a number of helpful links.

Reformation

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Searchable works from and about the Protestant Reformation from the mega-site, Christian Classics Ethereal Library.

History of the Christian Church - Modern Christianity
Contains text of Luther’s 95 Theses.

Open Access Digital Theological Library

The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world's most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC's WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.