Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library:
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in both the Reference and circulating sections of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Online Library Catalog
The following databases will provide useful information for your research in Criminal Justice:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at VFCC. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. The following databases within EBSOChost will be particularly helpful for research in Criminal Justice: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text, e-Book Academic Collection; PsycArticles and SocINDEX.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Search index of prestigious and comprehensive legal content. Endorsed by the American Association of Law Libraries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications. Behavioral Sciences researchers may find the legal information particularly useful.
Here are some websites that will help as you research various aspects of criminal justice.
Crime and Safety Reports
Issued by the U.S. Department of State, the Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) provides information regarding security-related issues on a country-by-country basis.
Crime in the United States (Uniform Crime Reports)
The FBI releases an annual report of criminal trends in the U.S. Reports and statistics on the state, county, and municipal level are available from 1999-2013.
Federal Bureau of Investigation - Uniform Crime Reports Program
"The program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation." A primary source for criminal investigation.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS "is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide." It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice and the Executive Office of the President.
National Institute of Corrections (NIC)
An agency of the Federal Bureau of Prisons, this U.S. Department of Justice department provides "training, technical assistance, information services and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies."
National Institute of Justice (NIJ)
The NIJ "is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science."
Office for Victims of Crime (OVC)
OVC is a clearinghouse of information for victims of crime in all areas. Such issues include: identity theft, domestic violence, victims of mass violence, human trafficking, internet crimes and witness assistance.
Restorative Justice Websites
Eastern Mennonite University: Restorative Justice
EMU houses The Zehr Institute for Restorative Justice and The Center for Justice & Peacebuilding.
International Institute for Restorative Practices Graduate School (IIRP)
IIRP is dedicated to "... the advanced education of professionals at the graduate level and to the conduct of research that can develop the growing field of restorative practices, with the goal of positively influencing human behavior and strengthening civil society throughout the world."
A department within Prison Fellowship Ministries, their mission is "to reform the criminal justice system so communities are safer, victims are respected, and offenders are transformed."
Restorative Justice Online
RJO is a service of the Prison Fellowship International Centre for Justice and Reconciliation. "Its purpose is to be an authoritative, credible, non-partisan resource of information on restorative justice."
Federal and State Government Websites
Here are listed agencies, bureaus and offices of the federal government.
Criminal Justice Statistics
Open Access Publications
Here are free, full-text publications from various professional associations.
Here are listed professional associations and organizations. Visit these sites for additional information on various aspects of criminal justice.This is not an exhaustive listing.
Forensicweek.com streams a show every week that you can watch on their YouTube channel.