Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available at the Library:
World Missionary Conference, Edinburgh, 1910
The World Missionary Conference
Charles Clayton Morrison was editor of the Christian Century for much of the first half of the twentieth century. He gives a first hand account of the World Missionary Conference in Edinburgh 1910. This article appeared in the Christian Century, July 7, 1910.
This website, published by Edinburgh 2010, a Centenary of the 1910 World Missionary Conference, contains a list of hymns sung at the conference, the full-text of the reports of all nine commissions, and reflections from attendees.
International Mission Photography Archive
This website offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, and offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean.
History of Missiology
This portal provides access to biographical material about missionaries as well as to classic writings in the history of Protestant mission thought, including works on mission theology, theory, and strategy.
Christian Missions History Timeline
This timeline published by a faculty member at Southern Nazarene University includes key people, events, locations and movements.
American Missionary 1878-1901
This website contains the full-text of volumes 32-55 of the journal American Missionary, which was published by the American Missionary Association.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
This website is a repository of digital resources contributed by many libraries. It provides access to digitial images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. One of their main themes in Missions and World Religions.
Missions and World Christianity Subject Guide
This website is Yale University Divinity School Library's guide to Missions and World Christianity. There are lots of links that will lead you to good websites.
Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center
As the official archives, research center, and museum of the Assemblies of God, the FPHC is dedicated to preserving and sharing materials relating to the Assemblies of God and the broader Pentecostal and charismatic movements. Their website includes free research tools, including digitized pages of indexed periodicals, historic photographs, and audio and video clips available for download. In addition, users may search the online catalog to the collection.
The Pentecostal/Charismatic Movement tab on the SRC's Church History LibGuide includes many resources on Assemblies of God History, Pentecostal History, and Charismatic History.
Missionaries | The Online Books Page
This website has links to many books available full-text online that are biographies or stories about late 19th/early 20th century missionaries.
This website is an electronic repository of historical texts by, about, and for missionaries.
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity
This website has the life stories of significant figures in Chinese Christianity across the centuries and around the world.
Dictionary of African Christian Biography
This website is a great resource for the speard of Christianity in Africa, going back 2,000 years.
Center for Study of the Life and Work of William Carey, D.D. (1761-1834)
The Center for Study of the Life and Work of William Carey, run by William Carey University, is to promote an understanding of the accomplishments of William Carey and to enhance appreciation of the religious, cultural, scientific, and historical contexts in which Carey worked in Britain and India.
Lillian Trasher: The Nile Mother
This 1955 documentary is about AG missionary Lillian Trasher's ministry with Egyptian orphans.
Beyond The Gates of Splendor
This documentary is based on the true story that inspired Elisabeth Elliot's best-seller, Through Gates of Splendor. This award-winning documentary features first-hand accounts of this fascinating story, including recent tribe interviews. You can watch the complete film at this link.