Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases will be useful to you in your research:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Within EBSCOhost you will find such databases as: Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete, Humanities Source, Literary Reference Center Plus, MAS Ultra-School Edition, the APA databases (PsycArticles, PsycBooks, PsycCritiques, PsycExtra, and PsycInfo), SocINDEX, as well as e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the authoritative source on the evolution and usage of the English language.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains analytical essays (both classic criticism and original analysis) on authors, works, and themes central to literary study.
Available in the Library
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the circulating collection for books you can check out, too.