Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are literary associations and organizations that may be of interest to you:
American Literature Blogs
American Literature Twitter Accounts
"Short Stories and Classic Literature for teachers, students, readers and writers. Don't miss the Short Story of the Day."
Dead Authors on Twitter
"The writers themselves may no longer be with us, but clever fans are impersonating them on Twitter, imagining what the scribes would have said if they'd had access to the microblogging service. Here are the best dead author Twitter accounts we could find."
American Literature Podcasts
American Literature Websites
Here are some links that will help you as you research American literature: authors, works, and literary criticism. These are aggregate sites as opposed to sites devoted to individual authors.
American Authors on the Web
Authors are chronically arranged and links to their works are provided.
American Studies: Literature
Richard Horwitz, Professor of American Studies at the University of Iowa, has compiled this very useful cross-disciplinary list of recommended links in an easy-to-use tabbed format.
Bartleby.com : Great Books Online
Publishes literature, reference, and verse. Provides students with unlimited free access to books and information on the web.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
Crossroads: An American Literature Hypertext Site
This well-established site contains information about and texts by Henry Adams, Charles Brockden Brown, Stephen Crane, Theodore Dreiser, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Harriet Wilson, among others.
Digital Book Index
Digital Book Index provides links to more than 155,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 135,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free, while many others are available at very modest cost.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Ernest Hemingway: Seven Tips on How to Write Fiction
Excerpts from the book, "Ernest Hemingway on Writing."
F. Scott Fitzgerald: Seven Tips on How to Write Fiction
Advice from F. Scott Fitzgerald to aspiring fiction writers.
Listen to Flannery O'Connor reads excerpts from an essay.
Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism
Although ipl2 is no longer updated, the ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
John Steinbeck's Six Tips for the Aspiring Writer
Advice from John Steinbeck to aspiring writers and a film clip of his Nobel Prize acceptance speech.
Open access to over 4,300 electronic journals.
This easy-to-navigate site maintains a collection of annotated links on 19th-century British and 20th century British and American writers.
Mark Twain Project
The "ultimate purpose is to produce a digital critical edition, fully annotated, of everything Mark Twain wrote."
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Research and Reference Guide
This major site includes extensive bibliographies of American authors as well as study questions about their major works. history; its SiteScene reviews are extensive and thorough.
Shmoop: Study Guides and Teacher Resources
Smart, fresh guides to great literature by Stanford, Harvard, and Berkeley PhD students.
SSAWW (Society for the Study of American Women Writers)
This major site features links from the journal Legacy, pictures of American women writers, online texts, and other resources.
The Internet Archive
Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Voice of the Shuttle: American Literature
A very well respected web source, it encompasses sources in the humanities. VoS is woven by Alan Liu and a development team in the U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department.
Voices From the Gaps
Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color.
William Faulkner: Seven Tips on How to Write Fiction
Advice from William Faulkner to aspiring fiction writers.