LibGuides: Literature: Am. Lit Resources

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 116,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Within EBSCOhost you will find such databases as: Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete, Humanities Source, Literary Reference Center Plus, the APA databases (PsycArticles, PsycBooks, PsycCritiques, PsycExtra, and PsycInfo), SocINDEX, and e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the authoritative source on the evolution and usage of the English language.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains analytical essays (both classic criticism and original analysis) on authors, works, and themes central to literary study.

Available in the Library:

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go to the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

American History Through Literature, 1820-1870 by Janet Gabler-Hover
Call Number: REF PS 217 .H57 A84 2005 v.1, v.2, v.3
American History Through Literature, 1870-1920 by Tom Quirk
Call Number: REF PS 217 .H57 A843 2005 v.1, v.2, v.3
Encyclopedia of African American Writing by Shari Hatch
Call Number: REF PS 153 .N5 A3444 2009
Encyclopedia of American literature / Steven R. Serafin, general editor ; Alfred Bendixen, associate editor by Steven Serafin
Call Number: REF PS 21 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of fantasy and horror fiction by Don D'Ammassa
Call Number: REF PR 830.F3 D36 2006
The Oxford companion to English literature 7th ed. / edited by Dinah Birch. by Dinah Birch (Editor); Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: REF PR 19 .O94 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by Jay Parini
Call Number: REF PS 21 .E537 2004 v.1, v.2, v.3, v.4
The Twentieth-Century American Fiction Handbook by Christopher J. MacGowan
Call Number: REF PS 379 .M255 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Literature Specific Databases

Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Quickly access reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media representing a wide range of interests.
Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Access library works and authors throughout history, including full text poems, plays, short stories, speeches and more.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.