Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases will be useful for you in your research:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. History. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.
Available in the Library:
These books, plus many more, can all be found in the Reference section of our library. Search the Library Online Catalog to find additional resources.
Library of Congress
This will show you the call number ranges of books in the history section: