Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library:
Film Resources Online
Here are some online resources that you can use to do some research on film studies:
Internet Movie Database
This website provides links to tons of movies, listing casts, ratings, trivia, and much more.
American Film Institute's Lists
Check out the AFI's lists for the best movies, heroes and villains, quotes, songs, and so much more.
200+ Free Movies Online
Classics, international, film noir, documentaries, indies – they’re all here, waiting to be watched.
Cinemorgue: Who Killed Who and How?
This database will give you a list of actors and actresses and list all of the death scenes that they've had. Obviously, the site is full of spoilers - you've been warned!
Collection Highlights | Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
The Academy's permanent collection contains more than 10 million photographs, 165,000 film and video assets, 80,000 screenplays, 50,000 posters, 20,000 production and costume design drawings, and 1,400 special collections.
Film Journals Online
Dalhousie University's website on film journals available online.
This site hosts more than 7,000 movie reviews and feature stories contributed by 20-some critics located throughout the world.
Film History by Decade
Published by AMC, this website has timelines, lists, and movie history for each decade.
Interviews, Writers, Quotes, Fiction, Poetry - Paris Review
The Paris Review has recently placed online all of their interviews of famous playwrights, authors, and poets that were done over a span of 60 years. They are now free for the viewing on this website.
Moving Image Archive
The Internet Archive contains more than one thousand full-length feature films that you can view and download for free. These are primarily older films that were created as public domain works or have since been released into public domain.