LibGuides: Fine Arts: Drama

Available in the Library:

These books, plus many more, can all be found in our library. Search the Library Online Catalog to find additional resources.

Twelfth Night - Full Play
Montana Shakespeare in the Schools performs Twelfth Night (What You Will) for middle and high school students. This resource includes the full play, with a talk-back after the show in which audience members ask the cast and crew questions about the production. The full transcript of the play is also included.
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Shakespeare - York College Theatre, May 2014 - recorded in MONO, please adjust your speakers.
Romeo and Juliet
Emporia State University Theatre presents William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet.
Recorded on April 25, 2019 at the Karl C. Bruder Theatre in King Hall on the campus of Emporia State University.

Metropolitan Opera - Free Live Audio Streams
All performances are subject to change. Please note broadcasts will begin 5 minutes ahead of curtain with additional broadcast commentary. All live stream start times shown are Eastern Time.

Here are some resources for Theater research:

Internet Broadway Database
This archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
McCoy's Guide to Theater and Performance Studies
An extensive and scholarly annotated guide to electronic theatre resources.
The Paris Review
The Paris Review has interviewed playwrights, novelists, poets and artists for the last sixty years, which are all available online.
Theatre Dictionary
The Theatre Dictionary is a guide to theatre terms,using videos and articles to define the theatre’s unique words and phrases.

Here are some websites on different periods in the history of Theater:

Theater History on the Web
This website was created to provide easy access to useful research sites on the history of theater, from classical to today. Also at this site are links to lighting, costume, and set design resources.
Didaskalia
Didaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.
Records of Early English Drama
An international scholarly project that is establishing the broad context from which the great drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew.
The Development of Scenic Spectacle
This site is dedicated to the study of Renaissance and Baroque theatrical spectacle, and the technology that created these illusions.
Music, Theater, and Popular Entertainment in Victorian Britain
Run by a professor at Brown University, this website is like an encyclopedia for Victorian culture. This is their section on entertainment.
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870 - 1920
This website is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville.
Online Theater Histories Archive
This site is an online archive of theatre ephemera and documents ranging from 1827 to the present day and has been sourced from several other collections including Royal Holloway University, the V&A Theatre Collections, the UEL archive and professional theatre collections.

These websites are useful in the production of stage shows:

Milieux: The Costume Site
This website provides online costuming sources for historical, science fiction, and fantasy costumers. It is a directory of sources.
Speech Accent Archive
This site uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. You can use the examples you find here to help with a character's accent.
The Costume Page
This website provides link to resources on historical clothing.

This area has tons of options for live shows, plays, and musicals. Here are some:

Forge Theater
Phoenixville, PA
Forge Theatre brings year-round live theatrical entertainment to the Phoenixville community in the form of six productions a year.
People's Light & Theatre
Malvern, PA
This non-profit, professional theatre produces 8-9 productions per season, as well as a holiday show each season.
Sight & Sound Theatre
Lancaster, PA
The largest Christian theatre in the United States brings the Bible to life with spectacular sets, a 300-foot wrap-around stage, live animals and outstanding performances.
Barley Sheaf Players
Lionville, PA
This theater offers year-round dramas, comedies, musicals, one-act festivals, and educational programs for all ages.