LibGuides: Health and Wellness: Diseases and Conditions

Available in the Library:

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go to the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment by Lawrence M. Tierney
Call Number: REF RC 71 .C87 2011
Eating Disorders Sourcebook by Joyce Brennfleck Shannon
Call Number: REF RC552 .E18 E287 2007
Human Diseases and Conditions by Miranda Herbert Ferrara
Call Number: REF RC 81 .A2 H75 2010 v.1-4
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Mark H. Beers
Call Number: REF RM 127 .M4 2011
Oxford Handbook of Anxiety and Related Disorders by Martin M. Antony
Call Number: REF RC 531 .O94 2009
Physicians' desk reference 2016 70th edition.
Call Number: REF RS 75 .P5 2016
Stress-related Disorders Sourcebook by Amy L. Sutton
Call Number: REF RA785 .S78 2007

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.

Suggested Websites

Here are some websites that will help as you research various human diseases and conditions.

AIDS.gov
AIDS.gov works to increase HIV testing and care among people most at-risk for, or living with, HIV, by using emerging communication strategies to provide access to Federal HIV information, policies, programs, and resources.
Alcoholism: MedlinePlus
A clearinghouse for information on alcoholism. Such topics as diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation and related conditions are covered. Statistics and videos are provided.
CDC Wonder
Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics.
Center for Disease Control: Diseases and Conditions
The Center for Disease Control (CDC) provides an A-Z listing of all known diseases and conditions.
Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE) Toxicant and Disease Database
The CHE Toxicant and Disease Database is a searchable database that summarizes links between chemical contaminants and approximately 180 human diseases or conditions.
HHS: A to Z Index
This is a gateway to online resources at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
healthfinder.gov
A U.S. government website produced by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). You will find information and tools to help you stay healthy. healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations to bring the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
Mayo Clinic
A team of web professionals and medical experts working side by side produces this site. Through this unique collaboration, we give access to the experience and knowledge of more than 3,700 physicians, scientists and researchers of Mayo Clinic.
MedicineNet
Nationally recognized, doctor-produced by a network of more than 70 U.S. board-certified physicians, MedicineNet.com is a trusted source for online health and medical information.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. The Merck manuals are the "go-to" reference for medical professionals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
PDR Health
From the publishers of the Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), this website provides information on drugs, diseases and conditions, clinical trials and much more.
PubMed
Freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®). Approximately 5,400 journals published in the United States and more than 80 other countries have been selected and are currently indexed.

Specialized Search Engines

Many of the Suggested Websites (above) also have embedded search engines on their sites.

Medical Blogs, Podcast and RSS Directories

Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Provides a directory of podcasts and RSS feeds to which you can subscribe.
Mayo Clinic Health Blogs Index
Conversation on a variety of health topics with Mayo Clinic experts.

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here is a listing of organizations that are affiliated with common diseases and conditions.

Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.

For a comprehensive listing, see MedlinePlus: Organizations (below).

MedlinePlus: Organizations
A collection of organizations providing health information. This site is provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

more... less...

This is a good place to start.
Alcoholics Anonymous
Alcoholics Anonymous® is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism.
Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA)
They provide optimal care and services to individuals confronting dementia, and to their caregivers and families—through member organizations dedicated to improving quality of life.
American Dental Association (ADA)
The ADA is committed to the public’s oral health, ethics, science and professional advancement and access to care for all Americans.
American Diabetes Association
Our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.
American Heart Association (AHA)
Website devoted to all things dealing with cardiovascular diseases and stroke.
American Medical Association (AMA)
The American Medical Association (AMA) has one mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.
American Nurses Association (ANA)
The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
Through information, education, and advocacy APhA empowers its members to improve medication use and advance patient care.
American Psychiatric Association
Here you will find information on many common mental health concerns, including warning signs of mental disorders, treatment options and preventative measures.
American Psychological Association (APA)
APA seeks to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and as a means of promoting health, education, and human welfare.
American Stroke Association (ASA)
Affiliated with the American Heart Association, it is a clearinghouse devoted to stroke awareness and rehabilitation.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC provides users with credible, reliable health information.
National Cancer Institute
The federal government's principal agency for cancer research and training.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.