Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog Be sure to check the circulating collection for books you can check out, too.
These databases will be useful to you in your research:
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
Here are some links that may help you when researching medications and drugs.
Drug Information Online
Provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drug Information Portal
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this site provides extensive information on almost 25,000 drugs.
Drugs of Abuse Information
Produced by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, detaled information is given for commonly abused prescription and illicit drugs. Fact sheets, charts and statistics are also provided.
Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Partnership for Prescription Assistance
The Partnership for Prescription Assistance helps qualifying patients without prescription drug coverage get the medicines they need through the program that is right for them. Many will get their medications free or nearly free.
This is online drug and medication information from the publishers of the Physician's Desk Reference.
Pillbox: Rapid Identification, Reliable Information
A Beta test site produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The system enables users to identify tablets, and capsulized drugs based on physical criteria: imprint, shape, color, size, and scoring.
World Drug Report: Global Illicit Drug Trends
Produced by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Reports are provided from 1997 to current day and provides one of the most complete pictures of the international drug problem.
Specialized Search Engines
Many of the Suggested Websites (above) also have embedded search engines on their sites.
Martindale's Health Science Guide 2019
This site contains a wealth of worldwide medical/health information on virtually every health-related topic. The site features Multimedia Teaching Files, Multimedia Tutorials, Databases, Multimedia Medical Cases, Movies and Multimedia Courses/Textbooks.
Medications and Drugs Blogs, Podcast and RSS Directories
Associations and Organizations
Here is a listing of organizations that are affiliated with pharmaceuticals.
Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.
Drug Information Association (DIA)
DIA is a neutral, nonprofit, global, professional association of nearly 18,000 members who work in every facet of the discovery, development, and life cycle management of pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and related products.
A directory of health organizations associated with prescription drugs. It is provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). It is not comprehensive.
Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research
Mayo Foundation is a charitable, not-for-profit corporation with a mission to provide the highest quality, compassionate care at a reasonable cost through a physician-led team of diverse people working together in clinical practice, education and research.
United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs.
United States Pharmacopeia (USP)
The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) is a non–governmental, official public standards–setting authority for prescription and over–the–counter medicines and other healthcare products manufactured or sold in the United States.