Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religion Research Organizations
These organizations provide information on statistics and the scholarly research of religious topics:
American Academy of Religion
The world's largest association of academics who research or teach topics related to religion.
Society of Biblical Literature
SBL's purpose is to stimulate the critical investigation of biblical literature, together with other related literature, by the exchange of scholarly research.
The Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA provides data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups.
Hartford Institute for Religion Research
Hartford Institute's goals are to provide current religious research and to educate religious leaders, the media, and the general public with this information. They are non-denominational and have lots of data and statistics.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Based on interviews with more than 35,000 American adults, this extensive survey details the religious makeup, religious beliefs and practices as well as social and political attitudes of the American public.
The Barna Group
Barna Group is a research organization focused on the intersection of faith and culture.
Theology Research Websites
Here are some websites that will help you as you do research on topics in Theology:
NETBible offers a high quality Bible study tools and resources, such as commentaries, articles, word studies, original biblical languages, and cross references.
Search, read, and study the Bible in many languages, plus have access to tons of Bible study tools.
Collection of searchable Bibles including English, Greek, Hebrew, and dozens of other languages.
Bible History Online
This site features full text entries from Bible Dictionaries like Easton's, Faussett's, Hitchcock's, Nave's, Smith's and the ISBE!
Tyndale Tech: Electronic Resources for Biblical Studies
This website has great technology tools for studying the Bible and is updated 4-6 times each year to include the newest products.
Internet Sacred Text Archives
This is an online collection of the texts of many historic religious documents.
Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies
A directory of recommended websites for research and teaching in religious studies
Theology Research and Internet Guide
Evangel University's list of librarian approved online resources.
Liddell/Scott/Jones Greek-English Lexicon
This website is the online version of the well-known Greek-English lexicon.
This website includes more than 6,000 full-text articles and chapters by recognized religious scholars on a variety of topics. The database is searchable and is managed by Claremont School of Theology.
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia (ISBE) Online
The ISBE is a classic Bible reference compiled from nearly 10,000 entries written by over 200 different Bible scholars and teachers. All of the major words of the Bible are represented. The online version is the 1939 edition.
The New Testament Gateway
This site is an award winning web directory of internet resources on the New Testament.
This website collects scholarly reviews and averages them along with reviews from other ministries and users of the site to help you determine what commentaries will be the most useful for you.
This website was created by a librarian at Rockbridge Seminary. It is a searchable spreadsheet of open access Bible comementaries, both non-copyrighted and classic works.
Virtual Theological Library
The Virtual Library contains bibliographic records to open access theological resources and is organized by format. It is hosted by the Association of Christian Librarians.
Apologetics Press makes available scripturally sound and scientifically accurate materials in apologetics among the churches of Christ. If you click on the tabs along the top of the page, you will find articles written by experts in various topics.
Basic Apologetics Course from the C.S. Lewis Institute
This basic apologetics course from the C.S. Lewis Institute includes 20 hour-long lectures, and study guides and covers the topics of reasons for faith, objections to faith, responding to atheism, and responding to new age and cults.
Reasons To Believe: Integrating Science and Faith
The RTB team addresses the questions and converns of those who doubt, disbelieve, or dispute faith in Christ. They offer articles, blogs, podcast, and other publications that use their science expertise to defend the Christian faith.
Reasonable Faith with William Lane Craig
This website from William Lane Craig includes scholarly articles, transcripts of debates, podcasts, and many more resources. Their mission is to provide an intelligent, articulate and uncompromising yet gracious Christian perspective on the most important issues concerning the truth of the Christian faith.
Stand to Reason
Stand to Reason trains Christians to think more clearly about their faith and to make an even-handed, incisive, yet gracious defense for classical Christianity and classical Christian values in the public square. Their resources include commentaries, articles, lesson outlines, and video resources.
Click on the "Video Channels" tab along the top for videos about Investigating God, Investigating Jesus, Investigating Christianity and more.
Assemblies of God Resources
Here are some resources about the Assemblies of God Church:
Assemblies of God
The official website of the Assemblies of God.
16 Fundamental Truths
The AG's official Fundamental Truths.
The AG Core Doctrines.
AG Position Papers
The AG's official position on 25 different topics.
International Journal for Pentecostal Missiology
The IJPM seeks to facilitate the engagement, research and investigation of missiology from within a Pentecostal perspective; to encourage thinking and interaction among Pentecostal missionaries and/or Pentecostal missions scholars; and to provide a forum for dialogue and reflection about issues current within Pentecostal Missions. These parameters allow for biblical, theological, historical and/or missiological articulations as well as book reviews based on relevant contemporary works.