LibGuides: Behavioral Sciences: Library Resources in Behavioral Sciences

Available in the Library:

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Online Library Catalog. Be sure to check the circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

Handbook of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner
Call Number: REF BF 121 .H1955 2003
Clinical Handbook of Pastoral Counseling by Robert Wicks
Call Number: REF BV 4012.2 .C58 2002
Encyclopedia of social work by Terry Mizrahi
Call Number: REF HV 12 .E53 2008
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by Karen Sowers
Call Number: REF HV 40 .C635 2008
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior by Pamela Corsmeyer
Call Number: REF HV 5804 .E53 2009

Library Databases

The following databases will provide useful information for your research in the Behavioral Sciences:

Credo Reference
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. The following databases within EBSOChost will be particularly helpful for research in the Behavioral Sciences: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion; e-Book Academic Collection; PsycArticles; PsycBooks; PsycCritiques; PsycExtra and SocINDEX.
Gale Access
The Gale Access Program allows users to search cross-disciplinary databases to conduct their research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
JSTOR
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Nexis Uni
LexisNexis Academic contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications. Behavioral Sciences researchers may find the legal information particularly useful.
Theological Research Exchange Network
TREN provides free, full-text access to over 19,800 theses, dissertations and conference papers, some of which are related to Pastoral Counseling.

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Library of Congress

This will show you the call number ranges of books in the behavioral sciences sections: