Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library:
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in both the Reference and circulating sections of the Library.
Pastoral Counseling Research Websites
These websites will be useful to you when doing research for Pastoral Counseling:
Pastoral Counseling Ministries and Organizations
The following are pastoral counseling ministries and organizations:
Celebrate Recovery is a Christ-centered ministry to grant people freedom from their hurts, hang-ups, and habits. It was founded by Rick Warren.
Emerge Ministries is a full-service Evangelical Christian mental health outpatient center dedicated to helping churches minister to the needs of Christian believers.
Focus on the Family
Focus on the Family is a global Christian ministry dedicated to helping families thrive. They provide help and resources for couples to build healthy marriages that reflect God’s design, and for parents to raise their children according to morals and values grounded in biblical principles.
Visit these sites for information on professional associations in Pastoral Counseling:
American Association of Christian Counselors (AACC)
The mission of AACC is "to equip clinical, pastoral, and lay care-givers with biblical truth and psychosocial insights that minister to hurting persons and helps them move to personal wholeness, interpersonal competence, mental stability, and spiritual maturity."
Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (ACPE)
ACPE is a multicultural, multifaith organization devoted to providing education and improving the quality of ministry and pastoral care offered by spiritual caregivers of all faiths through the clinical educational methods of Clinical Pastoral Education.
American Counseling Association (ACA)
The ACA is dedicated to the growth and development of the counseling profession and those who are served.
Association of Biblical Counselors (ABC)
ABC exists to encourage, equip, and empower people everywhere to live and counsel the Word, applying the Gospel to the whole experience of life.
National Christian Counselors Association (NCCA)
NCCA is a non-profit, professional organization that trains, certifies, and licenses Christian counselors.
Christian Counseling Education Foundation (CCEF)
CCEF's mission is to restore Christ to counseling and counseling to the church. They do this through counseling, courses, publications, and conference.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials (EBSCOhost)
Includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and the American Theological Library Association's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
A source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection . It also contains over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Includes technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database.