Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library
These books, along with many other titles, can be found in both the Reference and circulating sections of the Library.
Psychology Research Websites
These websites will be useful to you when doing research for Psychology:
AllPsych Online: the Virtual Psychology Classroom
This website is a large and comprehensive psychology website with over over 920 individual, cross referenced, web pages and an estimated 3000 pages of printed material.
The Brain From Top To Bottom
This website from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research is all about the brain and how it works. Topics include development, senses, memory, emotion, dreams, and brain disorders.
Classics in the History of Psychology
Classics in the History of Psychology makes the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. It now has over 25 books and approximately 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also provides links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.
IQSS Dataverse Network
Run by Harvard Univeristy, access the world's largest collection of social science research data by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives.
Mental Health and Behavior: MedlinePlus
This website from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health gives you information and resources for all types of issues in behavioral and mental health, including videos, clinical trials, journal articles, treatments, and more.
National Academies Press - Behavioral and Social Sciences
The National Academies Press publishes reports issued from the National Research Council, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Academy of the Sciences. Their books are not only available for sale, but you can also download free PDFs of chapters and entire books.
Psych Central is an extensive independent mental health social network run by mental health professionals. On the website you will find research, information about drugs, mental health conditions, news, resources, and more.
Psychological Research on the Net
Ths website contains links to experiments and studies that are psychologically related. They are organized by category.
Psychology: Free Courses
Get free Psychology courses from the leading universities like MIT, Oxford, Yale, and UC Berkley. You can download these audio and video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player.
Visit these sites for information on professional associations in Psychology:
American Psychological Association (APA)
The APA is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
NIMH is a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Their mission is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical reserach, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI is dedicated to improving the lives of individuals and families affected by mental illness.
Open Access Psychology Journals
This website is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Back issues from 1968 to 2012 are available through the website. The journal is indexed in PubMed.
Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior
This journal provides access to basic research in behavior. It is available through PubMED, an open access government database.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Currently contains over 700 video titles and over 850 hours of footage on the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection . It also contains over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
Includes technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database.