LibGuides: Business: Marketing/PR

Available in the Library:

These books, along with other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the cover to view the book in Amazon. Click on the title to go to the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

Designing Brand Identity by Alina Wheeler
Call Number: HD 69 .B7 W44 2013
Marketing for Entrepreneurs by Frederick G. Crane
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .C676 2013
The handbook of persuasion and social marketing by David W. Stewart
Call Number: REF HF 5414 .H364
Publication Date: 2015
The 100 Most Significant Events in American Business by Quentin R. Skrabec
Call Number: REF HF 3021 .S57 2012
ISBN: 9780313398629
Publication Date: 2012
Psychological Foundations of Marketing by A. J. Kimmel
Call Number: HF 5415 .K52196 2013

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at VFCC. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Be sure to consult Business Source Complete and Regional Business News, as well as e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.

Marketing/PR Websites

Here are some websites that will help as you research various aspects of marketing and public relations.

Ad*Access
"The Ad*Access Project, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images.
Advertising Age
This website provides a number of useful links for researchers which includes Ad Age Data Center which provides advertising data and Ad Age Century which provides an advertising timeline as well as ranking lists for the top ads, campaigns, and jingles. Also provides some demographic information through Ad Age American Demographics.
Advertising World
The University of Texas at Austin's Advertising Department has created this comprehensive collection of links to advertising and marketing information. Links are arranged into over 81 categories and include many hard-to-find topical areas.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
AdViews
A digital collection of thousands of vintage television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
AdWeek
Provides the latest in advertising and marketing news, along with agency ratings, best spots of the month and year listings, job postings, and more.
ClickZStats: Trends and Statistics: Marketing News and Expert Advice
ClickZStats provides a collection of online facts and statistics which have been gathered from secondary sources. Especially useful is the "Stats Toolbox" which is an archive of statistical data.
KnowThis
Provides the basic principles of marketing and advertising in clear, concise tutorials. It also provides numerous Web resources for advertising, selling, promotion, research, and more in concise information areas for easy browsing.
Quick MBA: Marketing
"An online knowledge resource for business administration."

Government Websites

Library of Congress Business Reference Services
The Library of Congress Business Reference Services offers a subject guide to online Business reference sources.
Market Research
This guide provides information on how to use and find government data and statistics to help you make informed decisions about starting, growing and managing your business.
The Pennsylvania State Data Center
Access census data including manufacturing, retail and wholesale trade.

Specialized Business Search Engines

Business Research Search Engine
Google Custom Search.
Business.com
Google Insights for Search
Find trends, projections, percentages, etc. in business.
U.S. Commercial Service : Your Global Business Partner
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Commerce, the U.S. Commercial Service provides market intelligence to help U.S. exporters target the right market (s) for their products and services.

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here are some marketing/public relations associations and organizations that may be of interest to you:

American Marketing Association (AMA)
"The American Marketing Association (AMA) is the professional association for individuals and organizations who are leading the practice, teaching, and development of marketing worldwide."
Direct Marketing Association (DMA)
"DMA advocates industry standards for responsible marketing, promotes relevance as the key to reaching consumers with desirable offers, and provides cutting-edge research, education, and networking opportunities to improve results throughout the entire direct marketing process."
Institute for Public Relations
"The Institute seeks to deliver knowledge and best practices that demonstrate the value of public relations and help to achieve business goals. Thought leadership is possible because at the core of our mission is bridging the scientific rigor of academic leaders with the business-driven practicality of communications professionals."
Public Relations Society of America
PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members and, more broadly, the multi-billion dollar global public relations profession. We also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services, and act as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our time."
Sales and Marketing Executives International (SMEI)
"Sales & Marketing Executives International (SMEI) is the worldwide organization dedicated to ethical standards, continuing professional development, knowledge sharing, mentoring students and advancing free enterprise."
The American Advertising Federation (AAF)
The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America.