Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library:
These books, along with other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the SRC. Click on the cover to view the book in Amazon. Click on the title to go to the record in the Library Online Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.
These databases will be useful to you in your research:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 600 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at VFCC. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Be sure to consult Business Source Complete and Regional Business News, as well as e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
Business Management Websites
Here are some websites that will help as you research various aspects of business management.
CEOExpress provides quick access to a variety of business topics and resources through a very busy, text-heavy portal page. Four broad categories, Daily news and info, Business research, Office tools and travel and Break time provide links to hundreds of resources. Some resources are free, some offer recommendations and evaluations of resources and others are fee-based websites.
Free Management Library
A very practical site, the Free Management Library website was redesigned in 2006. Over 260 subject categories are broadly grouped with information useful to small and large, for-profit and non-profit, new and well-established enterprises. The library is administered by personnel from Authenticity Consulting, LLC, but content links can be added by readers following the “Community Rules”. Links are provided for reference works, blog indices, tutorials and additional resources.
Harvard Business School: Working Knowledge (Leadership and Management)
Harvard Business School’s Working Knowledge site includes a number of business topic sections including Leadership and Management. Articles for practitioners are highlighted; working papers and podcasts are available. Searches can be made by topic or by industry. The “First Look” section gives readers a weekly post summarizing new case studies, working papers and other publications.
Knowledge@Wharton, the online business journal of the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, provides articles free for 30 days, additional reading suggestions based on the selected article, podcasts with edited print transcripts, links to additional resources and free membership registration that enables receipt of the newsletter.
Quick MBA: Management
"An online knowledge resource for business administration."
TED Talk: Business
TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, and Design, and they hold conferences that bring together some of the leaders in many different fields. TED talks are short and thought provoking talks on a variety of topics, and their business talks include a wide variety of topics.
Library of Congress Business Reference Services
The Library of Congress Business Reference Services offers a subject guide to online Business reference sources.
SBA: Business Management
The success of any business is closely related to how well the venture is managed. Good management is the root source of business growth. Several free online courses are offered by the SBA to help prospective and existing entrepreneurs understand the basics about writing a business plan. These self-paced courses are easy to use and understand. They will take about 30 minutes to complete.
United States Department of Labor (DOL)
The Department of Labor (DOL) fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States.
"Official information and services from the U.S. government. Whatever you want or need from the U.S. government, it's here on USA.gov. You'll find a rich treasure of online information, services, and resources."
Specialized Business Search Engines
Here are some business management associations and organizations that may be of interest to you:
Academy of Management
AOM is primarily a scholarly management association. Career opportunities section has been revamped.
American Management Association
The AMA provides resources for professional development, including career resources and certificate programs, podcasts and job posting information.
Full Gospel Business Men's Fellowship
To reach men everywhere for Jesus Christ, taking particular note that in many instances men can reach others of their same social, cultural or business interests more readily than anyone else."
Institute for Business and Professional Ethics
Sponsored by DePaul University, the Institute's objective "is to provide a forum for exploring and furthering ethical practices in organizations". The "resources" section includes Business Ethics magazine, a membership newsletter, and links to other associations. Aimed at students, businesses, and the community.
Institute of Management Consultants
IMC USA is the premier professional association and sole certifying body dedicated to individuals consulting to management. The IMC USA mission is to promote excellence and ethics in management consulting through certification, education, and professional resources.
Business Management Blogs