LibGuides: Health and Wellness: Nutrition

Available in the Library

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference and circulating section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog .

Food and Nutrition Controversies Today : a Reference Guide by Myrna Chandler Goldstein
Call Number: REF TX 357 .G5745 2009
Food: In Context by Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: REF TX 354 .F6657 2011 v.1-2
Healthy Foods : Fact Versus Fiction by Myrna Chandler Goldstein
Call Number: REF TX 355 .G67 2010
Nutrition Made Clear by Roberta Anding
Call Number: DVD QP 141 .A535 2009
The Maker's Diet by Jordan Rubin
Call Number: BR 115 .N87 R83 2004

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

Suggested Websites

Here are some links that will help you as you research food and nutrition. Click on the to rate an individual site.

Diet and Nutrition
Produced by CBS News, this is an interactive site on the topic of food, nutrition, food allergies, and includes a Body Mass Index calculator.
HealthCastle
"Nutrition advice exclusively by registered dieticians."
Choose My Plate
The food pyramid has changed and is now a food plate. See how science has revamped current thinking about daily nutritional needs.
Nutrition and Food Web Archive (NAFWA)
Created by a registered dietician, this site provides a wealth of information on food and nutrition. A host of various calculators are also included.
Nutrition Assistance Programs
Produced by the Food and Nutrition Service of the USDA, the FNS "provides children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet, and nutrition education."
Nutrition.gov
A service of the National Agricultural Library at the USDA, it provides easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
StillTasty: Your Ultimate Shelf Life Guide
"How long will your favorite food or beverage stay safe and tasty? What is the best way to store it?" This website has the answers for thousands of foods and beverages.

Specialized Search Engines

Many of the Suggested Websites (above) also have embedded search engines on their sites.

Healthfinder
Healthline
Nutrient Data Laboratory
The USDA provdes this search engine/database. Enter a particular food and the site will search and display the nutrients found in that food.
PubMed

Nutrition Blogs and Podcasts

American Society for Nutrition (ASN) Podcasts
The ASN produces up-to-date podcasts on a variety of nutrition and dietary related topics.
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Provides a directory of podcasts and RSS feeds to which you can subscribe.
Diet Blog
"Written by RDs, fitness experts, and MDs, this blog is a great way to keep tabs on the latest diet news." Rated by Fitness Magazine as one of their favorite food and nutrition blogs.
Food Politics
"Nutrition professor and author Marion Nestle blogs about the latest news in food policy." Fitness Magazine has rated this as one of their favorite blogs.
Nutrition and Healthy Eating
A blog written by two Mayo Clinic registered dieticians.
VegCast
VegCast focuses on news and health issues, rather than advocacy. "If you're looking for an indepth, serious exploration of issues affecting vegetarians and vegetarian health, this is the podcast to listen to," as stated by about.com.

RSS Feed

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here is a listing of organizations that are affiliated with nutrition.

Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.

American Society for Nutrition
ASN is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing together the world's top researchers, clinical nutritionists and industry to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition for the sake of humans and animals.
Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
The mission of HNRCA is to explore the relationship between nutrition, aging and health by determining the nutrient requirements that are necessary to promote health and well-being for older adults and examining the degenerative conditions associated with aging.
Institute of Food Technologists (IFT)
A leading advocate for food science and a catalyst for change around the world.
National Association of Nutrition Professionals (NANP)
A non-profit business league that provides a foundation for holistically trained nutrition professionals to network, share expertise and deliver business-building ideas to members. Their mission is to enhance the integrity of the holistic nutrition profession.
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
A non-profit research and public policy organization devoted to improving the world's diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma.
UNICEF: Nutrition
UNICEF works to help see that every child's right to adequate nutrition is fulfilled. This page provides information on global nutrition projects, resources, and UNICEF research on nutrition issues.