LibGuides: Health and Wellness: First Aid

Available in the Library

These books, along with many other titles, can be found in the Reference and circulating section of the Library. Click on the title to go the record in the Library Online Catalog.

First aid manual 3rd ed. by Gina M. Piazza
Call Number: RC 86.8 .F565 2009
American Medical Association Handbook of First Aid and Emergency Care by American Medical Association
Call Number: REF RC 86.8 .A426 2009
First Aid for Babies & Children Fast by Allen R. Walker
Call Number: RJ 370 .F58 2006
Medicine for the outdoors : the essential guide to first aid and medical emergencies 5th ed. by Paul S. Auerbach
Call Number: RC 88.9 .O95 A94 2009

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.

Suggested Websites

Here are some links that may be useful when researching first aid.

American Safety and Health Institute: Basic First Aid
This is a PDF that comes in a printable handbook format. An excellent guide to keep near every first aid kit.
Anatomy of a First Aid Kit
The Red Cross recommends that all first aid kits for a family of four are included on this list.
Emergency and First Aid: Healthynet
A directory of first aid tips in over twenty-five categories. A flow chart is provided to help determine the proper course of action to take depending on the emergency.
First Aid Tips for Pet Owners
"Knowing how to comfort an injured pet can help minimize your pet's anxiety and also protect you and your family from injury." Produced by the American Veterinary Medical Association. Tips are given to help sick and injured pets.
First Aid: FamilyDoctor.org
Four areas are covered: basic first aid, first aid for kids, after care, and animal bites and scratches.
FirstAidWeb
Free, self-guided CPR course and First Aid course. "All Basic Life Support procedures demonstrated in this free online course adhere to the same guidelines as the American Red Cross and are intended to provide the student with the cognitive skills needed to administer CPR and First Aid in case of an emergency."
Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities
Produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, it provides annual information on the rate and number of work related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.
Mayo Clinic: First Aid
Information to help you during a medical emergency.
MedlinePlus: First Aid
A complete first aid guide. Provides a medical encyclopedia as well as pictures and photographs.
National First Aid Training Institute
Based in Australia, NFTI is dedicated to providing the very best in first aid training. Check the "First Aid Tips" tab.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
Created by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, this is the first aid chart from the Guide.
OSHA Safety and Health Topics
OSHA is part of theU.S. Department of Labor and it provides access to selected occupational safety and health information.

Warning Signs of Heart Attack, Stroke, and Cardiac Arrest

911 Warning Signs
Produced by the American Heart Association, this chart lists the warning signs of a heart attack, stroke, and cardiac arrest.

Adult CPR Instruction Video

The information provided here is a demonstration of the new HANDS-ONLY BASIC ADULT CPR that anyone can perform. Additional and advanced life support information and demonstrations (eg., infant/child CPR, traditional CPR, AED use) can be viewed at or through the American Heart Association's website.

RSS Feed

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here is a listing of organizations that are affiliated with first aid and first responders.

Descriptions are taken directly from their mission statements.

American Heart Association (AHA)
Learn and teach CPR and first aid.
American Lifeguard Association
The American Lifeguard Association (ALA) is an educational association that is currently one of the largest sponsors of health and safety training programs in the United States.
American Red Cross
The American Red Cross is the nation's premier emergency response organization.
Health and Safety Institute (HSI)
The largest privately held emergency care and response training organization in the world.
National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT)
The only national association representing and serving all emergency medical services practitioners through quality education, membership and national advocacy.
National First Aid Training Institute (NFTI)
NFTI is dedicated to providing the very best in first aid training and offers a wide range of courses for both individuals and companies.
National Safety Council (NSC)
The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads through leadership, research, education and advocacy.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA's goal is to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.