Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available in the Library:
These books, along with other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go to the record in the Online Library Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.
These databases will be useful to you in your research:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at VFCC. It contains 28 multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Be sure to consult Business Source Complete and Regional Business News, as well as e-Book Academic Collection for full-text books.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.
Specialized Business Search Engines
Here are some websites that will help as you research various aspects of economics.
Bank of International Settlements
The BIS's predominant tasks are "to promote the cooperation of central banks and to provide additional facilities for international financial operations". The annual report contains data on industrial and emerging markets.
Demographic Yearbook (United Nations)
Standardized annual data relating to population and social concerns from nearly every nation in the world.
Powered by Moody's Analytics, this is a subscription website, but they offer a free Daily Newsletter and a U.S. Economic Calendar.
Economics Research Network
The economics neighborhood of the Social Science Research Network. A forum for scholarly communication about research and conferences. Platform for browsing and searching working papers and reports from universities, governments, public policy organizaitons and practitioners.
Although a journal, this is a highly rated website for the study of economics
EconomyWatch - Pennsylvania
Part of EconomyWatch.com. EconomyWatch.com is the largest online economics community in the world. Every month, close to half a million users read specific targeted content covering the economy, investment, personal and global finance, statistics databases and directory listings.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Created by St. Louis Federal Reserve District, FRED provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online (United Nations)
Current economic statistics from most nations of the world.
Quick MBA: Economics
"An online knowledge resource for business administration."
Research Papers in Economics is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 71 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
This guide lists more than 900 resources on the Internet to those interested in economics. Published by the AEA. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
World Development Indicators
Time series statistics on national accounts, international transactions, manufacturing, andmonetary indicators are provided for World Bank member countries.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Department of Commerce office charged with promoting "a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner. " HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC)
The FOMC controls U.S. monetary policy through open market sale of Treasury securities, regulation of the interest rate charged on loans to commercial banks and other depository institutions, and regulation of amount of funds depository institutions must have on hand against depository liabilities. Policy decisions are made in response to economic dynamics.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Primary Source. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Library of Congress Business Reference Services
The Library of Congress Business Reference Services offers a subject guide to online Business reference sources.
Monthly Labor Review
Contains articles as well as a monthly statistics section on employment and earnings. Covers less detail but a longer range of years than Employment and Earnings. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Pennsylvania Economy at a Glance
Part of the Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Survey of Current Business
Includes monthly and quarterly cyclical indicator statistics. Tables of economic indicators cover such statistics as personal income, industrial productivity, business sales and inventories, commodity prices, producer prices, labor force, and earnings. Statistical series usually give monthly statistics for the last year and annual statistics for the previous two years. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
The Pennsylvania State Data Center
Access census data including manufacturing, retail and wholesale trade.
This report of federal fiscal operations includes details of federal debt, bonds, notes, market yield, and other federal financial obligations. Positions of major foreign currencies are included, along with a profile of the domestic economy including growth of GDP, federal deficit, and rate of personal savings.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
"The principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making."
United States Census Bureau: Statistical Agencies
International Sstatistical agencies, alphabetically arranged by country.
United States Department of Labor (DOL)
The Department of Labor (DOL) fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States.
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal. Use this to locate your state government's website.
Here are some economics associations and organizations that may be of interest to you: