LibGuides: Business: Accounting

Available in the Library:

These books, along with other titles, can be found in the Reference section of the Library. Click on the title to go to the record in the Online Library Catalog. Be sure to check the Circulating collection for books you can check out, too.

Accountants' Handbook by D.R. Carmichael
ISBN: REFHF5621.A222007
Accountants' Handbook, 2010 Supplement by D.R. Carmichael
Call Number: REF HF 5621 .A22 2010 SUPPL.
Dictionary of Accounting, by S.M.H. Collin
Call Number: REF HF 5621 .C65 2007

Library Databases

These databases will be useful to you in your research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 600 reference titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 130,000 full-text e-books in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. There is a powerful user interface that includes highlighting, bookmarking and automatic citations.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
Gale Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text resources on current issues. This online library investigates current issues and topics from a number of perspectives.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.

Accounting Websites

Here are some websites that will help as you research various aspects of accounting.

Accounting Research Network
Part of the Social Science Research Network, (SSRN), ARN gives you the ability to search for top authors and recent papers in the field of accounting.
more...less...
You must register as a first-time user, but it is free.
Accounting Terminology Guide
"The NYSSCPA has prepared this glossary as an educational tool for journalists who report on and interpret financial information."
AccountingWEB
"AccountingWEB provides accounting news, information, tips, tools, resources and insight--everything you need to help you prosper and enjoy the accounting profession even more! "
Ernst & Young
Check out their library of newsletters, report, and white papers. All available in .pdf downloads.
Fianancial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Since 1973, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) has been the designated organization in the private sector for establishing standards of financial accounting that govern the preparation of financial reports by nongovernmental entities.
Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
The Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) is the independent organization that establishes and improves standards of accounting and financial reporting for U.S. state and local governments.
How to Read Annual Reports
Published by IBM, "this guide provides basic information on how to read the financial statements in a company’s annual report."
Quick MBA : Accounting
"An online knowledge resource for business administration."

Taxation Websites

Bankrate.com
Despite the commercial messages, Bankrate.com’s tax page provides many handy rate pages such as standard deductions, tax news, tips and tax forms.

Government Websites

Business Reference Services
The Library of Congress Business Reference Services offers a subject guide to online Business reference sources.
EDGAR (SEC Database)
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Primary source. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
more...less...
Excellent source on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)
Office of Management and Budget
Pennsylvania Department of Revenue
Pennsylvania Department of the Auditor General
TreasuryDirect
United States Government Accountability Office (GAO)
USA.gov
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal. Use this to locate your state government's website.

Specialized Business Search Engines

Business Research Search Engine
Google Custom Search.
Business.com
Google Finance
Google Trends
Find trends, projections, percentages, etc. in business.

Library Director

Melanie Oestreich

Professional Associations

Here are some accounting associations and organizations that may be of interest to you:

Accounting Associations on the Web
Comprehensive listing of State, National and International accounting associations and organizations.
American Accounting Association
The American Accounting Association promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice.
American Institute of CPAs
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and its predecessors have been the voice of the accounting profession since 1887.
American Society of Women Accountants (ASWA)
The American Society of Women Accountants represents professional women in accounting and finance.
Association of Government Accountants
AGA serves government accountability professionals by providing quality education, fostering professional development and certification, and supporting standards and research to advance government accountability.
National Association of Black Accountants (NABA)
Promotes Black and minority business professionals.
National Society of Accountants (NSA)
"The National Society of Public Accountants (NSPA) works for the welfare of public accountants, collectively and individually."

Accounting Blogs

Top 10 Accounting Blogs for Expert Advice