LibGuides: Education: Online Education Resources

Education Week

Education Week is a national publisher of news about K-12 education. Here are the latest headlines:

Professional Associations

Here are some professional teaching associations that can be resources for you:

National Education Association (NEA)
This site contains resources for parents and professionals as well as information on current issues in education.
International Literacy Association (ILA)
The site of the world's leading organization of literacy professionals
National Science Teachers Association (NAST)
A science and education resource for teachers.
School Science and Mathematics Association (SSMA)
A community bringing together researchers and teachers to promote research, scholarship, and practice to improve school science and mathematics
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
The "public voice of mathematics education"
National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
The mission of NCSS is to provide leadership, service, and support for all social studies educators.
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
A professional association of educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts
American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
A trade union representing workers in education, health care and public service, their site also includes teaching resources.

Department of Education Websites

Here are some quick links to the national and state Departments of Education:

United States Department of Education
Pennsylvania Department of Education
New Jersey Department of Education
Delaware Department of Education
New York State Education Department
Maryland Department of Education
Ohio Department of Education
Education | The White House
The White House's page on Education covers the current Administration's stance on education, related legislation, and their progress.

Education Research Websites

Here are some links that will help you with your Education research:

US Department of Education - Research and Statistics
This site gives statistical information from various research organizations and is a great resource for education researchers.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
PA Department of Education - Standards Aligned System (SAS)
This is where you can access all information related to standards.
The Educator's Reference Desk
The Educator's Reference Desk includes lesson plans and links to online education information.
LD OnLine
This website on learning disorders and ADHD serves educators, parents, and kids.
Education Research and Internet Guide
Evangel University's list of librarian approved online resources.
TED Talks: Education
TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, and Design, and they hold conferences that bring together some of the leaders in many different fields. TED talks are short and thought provoking talks on a variety of topics, and education is included in that.
ChildStats.gov
This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Technology Integration
This website from PBS Teachers has a lengthy list of reports and examples of best practices for using technology in the classroom. The list is divided into eleven categories including topics like visual media, Internet safety, access and the digital divide, and student learning.
The National Academies Press - Education
The National Academies Press publishes reports issued from the National Research Council and the National Academy of the Sciences. Their books are not only available for sale, but you can also download free PDFs of chapters and entire books.
Early Childhood Research and Practice
This peer-reviewed multilingual journal on the development, care, and education of young children is available full-text back to their first issue in 1999.
Education Week Teacher Professional Development Sourcebook
This sourcebook is filled with amazing resources for teachers, including great articles, a directory of useful sites, and links to PD events.
Diversity Data Kids
This website from the Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy at Brandeis University offers graphical compilations of data designed to document the well-being of children in the US. Data comes from the census, national statistical repositories and surveys.

Subject Guide

Melanie Oestreich

Certification

Praxis
This website will give you information about the Praxis Exam, and allow you to check out the certification requirements for your state. You can register for the exam at this site as well.
PAPA
This website will give you information about the Pre-Service Academic Performance Assessment (PAPA) test, and includes preparation materials such as tutorials and full-length practice tests.

Education Blogs

Free Technology for Teachers
This blog provides great online resources for teachers in many grades and disciplines.
Larry Ferlazzo's Websites of the Day...
A wide variety of useful websites
Engaging Parents In School...
Ideas for involving your students parents in their education
Let's Play Math!
A blog about learning, teaching, and playing around with K-12 mathematics.
Edublogs
This website hosts blogs and provides custom blogging platforms to individual teachers, school districts, and students.