LibGuides: Education: Special Education

Education Week: Special Education News

Education Week is a national publisher of news about K-12 education. Here are the latest headlines about Special Education:

Professional Associations

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
The largest international organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents.
Association for Experiential Education (AEE)
A nonprofit, professional membership association dedicated to experiential education and the students, educators and practitioners who utilize its philosophy.
Association on Higher Education And Disability (AHEAD)
A professional membership organization for individuals involved in the development of policy and in the provision of quality services to meet the needs of persons with disabilities involved in all areas of higher education.
National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
The only national membership organization dedicated solely to meeting the needs of special education teachers and those preparing for the field of special education teaching.

Special Education Jobs

SpecialEdCareers
This site by the Council for Exceptional Children provides job seekers and employers to connect.

Special Education Research Websites

Here are some links that will help you with your research on Special Education:

Association for Science in Autism Treatment (ASAT)
The mission of ASAT is to share accurate, scientifically sound information about autism and treatments for autism.
Disablities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology (DO-IT)
Contains resources to increase the success of students with disabilities through the use of technology and the internet. Great resource for educators, individuals with disabilities, parents and individuals working with students with disabilities.
LD OnLine
This website on learning disorders and ADHD serves educators, parents, and kids.
Learning Disabilities: MedlinePlus
This database was compiled by the National Library of Medicine and includes overviews, clinical trials, specific conditions, diagnosis, symptoms, and more.
National Center for Learning Disabilities
This site provides information to parents, professionals and individuals with learning disabilities. Contains a blog, newsletters, podcasts and numerous resources.
National Institute for Learning Development (NILD)
This organization's goal is to build the competence and confidence of those who struggle to learn by training educators and developing programs to help.
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)
OSERS supports programs that help educate children and youth with disabilities, provides for the rehabilitation of youth and adults with disabilities and supports research to improve the lives of individuals with disabilities.
Pennsylvania Training and Technical Assistance Network (PaTTAN)
This site helps to support the efforts and initiatives of the Bureau of Special Education, and to build the capacity of local educational agencies to serve students who receive special education services.
The International Dyslexia Association (IDA)
IDA is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping individuals with dyslexia, their families and the communities that support them.
Voational Rehabilitation Services
This is the website of PA's Department of Labor and Industry, which provides vocational rehabilitation services to help persons with disabilities prepare for, obtain, or maintain employment.

Gifted Education

Davidson Institute for Talent Development
This organization is a national non-profit organization dedicated to supporting profoundly gifted students. Their mission is to recognize, nurture and support profoundly intelligent young people and to provide opportunities for them to develop their talents to make a positive difference.
Gifted Child Society
This non-profit organization's goals are educational enrichment and support services specifically designed for gifted children; assistance to parents in raising gifted children to full and productive adulthood; professional training to encourage educators to mee tht especial needs of these youngsters; and a greater effort to win public recognition and acceptance of these special needs.
Hoagies' Gifted Education Page
This site is a resource for parents, teachers, administrators, mental health professionals, and gifted kids and adults. It has won various awards from respected gifted education associations.
National Association for Gifted Children
NAGC invests all of its resources to train teachers, encourage parents and educate administrators and policymakers on how to develop and support gifted children and what's at stake if high-potential learners are not challenged and encouraged.
Neag Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development
Studies focus on meeting the needs of gifted and talented youth.
Pennsylvania Association of Gifted Education
This site has resources for both parents and educators of gifted children.
SENG: Supporting Emotional Needs of the Gifted
SENG is dedicated to fostering environments in which gifted adults and children, in all their diversity, understand and accept themselves and are understood, valued, nurtured, and supported by their families, schools, workplaces and communities.

The World Needs All Kinds of Minds

Subject Guide

Melanie Oestreich

Federal Education Laws

Q & A

12-year-old Joshua Littman, who has Asperger’s syndrome, interviewed his mother, Sarah. Their one-of-a-kind conversation covered everything from cockroaches to Sarah’s feelings about Joshua as a son.

Special Education Blogs

Teaching Learners with Multiple Special Needs
Resources and ideas for teachers of learners with severe, profound, intensive, significant, complex or multiple special needs.
Teaching Students With Learning Difficulties
This blog is for teachers, lecturers and support staff working with students with learning difficulties, especially those age 16 and older.
Paula Kluth: Toward Inclusive Classrooms and Communities
THis website is dedicated to promoting inclusive schooling and exploring posistive ways of supporting students with autism and other disabilities.