Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Teaching Resources
Teaching Channel - Best Practice Videos and Lessons
This website has a collection of videos of teachers demonstrating their best practices. The videos are categorized according to grade level, subject, and topic. You will find examples of classroom management techniques and examples of teachers carrying out their best lesson plans. The lesson plan videos are accompanied by documents detailing the lessons. The classroom management videos are accompanied by tip sheets.
This website includes lesson plans and resources in the areas of art and design, science and technology, history and culture, and language arts. It also has resources that are aligned to national, common core, or state standards for students K-12.
PBS Teachers | Resources For The Classroom
This website provides you with teaching resources on the Arts, Health and Fitness, Math, Reading and Language Arts, Science and Technology, and Social Studies. You can also search according to age groups.
Teaching Resources from National Geographic Education
Mostly science with some history thrown in as well, this website is still in Beta format, but new resources are being continually posted.
This website offers comprehensive teaching and learning resources created by their content partners – the most respected organizations in each academic subject and literacy. The easy-to-navigate K-12 resources are grade-specific and are aligned with state standards.
This site provides educators with resources such as lesson plans, technology integration and professional development as well as sections on early childhood and school issues.
DonorsChoose.org is an online charity that makes it easy for anyone to help students in need. Public school teachers from every corner of America can post classroom project requests on the site. Then, people can browse project requests and give any amount to the one that inspires them. Once a project reaches its funding goal, they deliver the materials to the school.
Center for Applied Special Technology
This Universal Design for Learning website presents the UDL principles and provides copious examples of how these can be followed, using multiple means of representing information, learner expressions of what they know, and ways to engage students in learning.
Presently it features up-to-date links to nearly 500 significant web humanities projects, grouped into four categories: Art and Culture, Literature and Language Arts, Foreign Languages, and History and Social Studies.
THe Curriki library hosts thousands of educator-vetted, openly licensed, online educational materials that teachers, educators, or other professionals have created and have made freely available to others for use, reuse, adaptation, and sharing.
This is a website designed for the purpose of sharing mathematics problems and scenarios based on things happening in the world today. When math is explored in contexts that are familiar and of interest to students, students will be more engaged to do math, reason, think critically, question and communicate.
Web 2.0 Scientific Calculator
Don't have a TI-83? You can use this free scientific calculator, and even embed it into your own website.
Math Open Reference
This website is a free online reference for geometry teachers and students. It features animated and interactive drawings to demonstrate geometry terms and concepts.
This website presents students with animated stories that teach mathematics lessons. In all there are twenty-three lessons for elementary school and middle school students. The lessons are divided into four categories; Number, Patterns and Relations, Shape and Space, Statistics and Probability.
Get The Math
This website is a multimedia project about algebra in the real world, with professionals in fashion, videogame design, and music production showing how they use algebra in their fields.
The Kid Should See This
There's just so much science, nature, music, arts, technology, storytelling and assorted good stuff out there that kids should see. It's most likely not stuff that was made for them... But The Kid Should See This doesn't underestimate kids.
Teaching Science and Health
Smithsonian Education - Science and Technology
This website includes lesson plans and resources for classes in science and technology. It also has resources that are aligned to national, common core, or state standards for students K-12.
NASAeClips's YouTube Channel
NASA's YouTube Channel has short, relevant educational video segments, designed for a spectrum of learners. These videos inspire and engage students, helping them see the value of their classroom learning through real world connections. New video segments are produced weekly, exploring recent and relevant applications of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM topics. The programs are produced for targeted age groups including: grades K-5, 6-8, 9-12 and the general public.
KidsHealth in the Classroom
This website is a great place to find lesson plans, videos, and games for teaching personal health topics to students of all ages. The site includes a large set of teacher's guides containing lesson plans, activities, and worksheets available as free PDF downloads. The teacher's guides are divided into five grade level categories from pre-K through high school.
Bill Nye the Science Guy
Bill Nye the Science Guy's website has a bunch of easy science experiments that you can do in the classroom.
NASA for Educators
This website provides teachers with resources to use in thir classrooms, from grades K-12 and higher education.
Canadian Space Agency - YouTube Channel
The Canadian Space Agency has an awesome YouTube channel with videos hosted by the Canadian Commander of the International Space Station. He takes all sorts of questions from kids and shows them how to do all sorts of “normal” things on the ISS, like how to get a haircut in space, or brush your teeth, or what happens when you wring out a washcloth.
Teaching Social Studies
Teacher Resources from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Welcome to Teaching American History
This website from the Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies helps you find teacher-selected resources that help bring primary sources into the classroom.
Smithsonian Education - History and Culture
This website includes lesson plans and resources for classes in history and culture. It also has resources that are aligned to national, common core, or state standards for students K-12.
Smithsonian's History Explorer
This website was developed by the National Museum of American History to offer hundreds of free, innovative online resources for teaching and learning American history. The site is designed for use by K-12 teachers and students, afterschool program providers, families, and individuals interested in lifelong learning.
September 11: Teaching Contemporary History
Designed to provide educators with resources and strategies for addressing the September 11 terrorist attacks, the conference included roundtable discussions with content experts and six workshop sessions. These sessions — all of which were recorded and are now available — highlight resources available at each organization, provide background information on September 11, and encourage conversations on how to document, preserve, and interpret recent history and current events.
History by Era
Introductions to different time periods are followed by essays by leading scholars; primary sources with images, transcripts, and a historical introduction; multimedia presentations by historians and master teachers; interactive presentations; and lesson plans and other classroom resources.
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, this website is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom.
Teaching Language Arts
Reading Rockets is a national multimedia literacy initiative offering information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how caring adults can help. Their website includes classroom strategies, guides, research, and more to promote reading in your classroom.
This website is a bilingual site for families and educators of English language learners. It has resources for teachers, parents, and administrators.
All About Adolescent Literacy
This website contains resources for parents and educators of kids in grades 4-12.
The Literacy Web
Sponsored by University of Connecticut's College of Education, this site gives literacy resources by grade level and highlights current research.
Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified. Each reading passage can also be downloaded as a PDF and printed for use as a read-along or as supplemental reading material for your classroom.
KidLit.TV is a community of authors, illustrators, educators and parents all working together to be positive catalysts in children's literacy. The website includes videos from authors, illustrators, publishers, and more, videos on new technology, and videos presenting classic and contemporary books.
This website is full of hundreds of visually interesting writing prompts that will get your students thinking creatively.