Skip to Main Content

Church History: Church History Library Resources

This guide will help you with your Church History research.

Library Databases

These databases will be useful for you in your research:

Credo Reference
Provides full-text access to over 3.2 million entries from over 400 reference titles.
EBSCOHost
EBSCOhost is the primary online journal and e-book platform at UVF. It contains multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. Access over 50,000 full-text journal titles and over 130,000 full-text e-books on this platform.
JSTOR
This collection contains the complete archived holdings of over 1,100 scholarly, full-text journals. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
Nexis Uni
Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications.
Theological Research Exchange Network
TREN provides free, full-text access to over 6,800 theses, dissertations and conference papers in the field of theology.

Available in the Library:

These books, plus many more, can all be found in the Reference section of our library. Search the Library Online Catalog to find additional resources.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 66.5 .D5813 2014

ISBN: 9780830829439
The Popular Encyclopedia of Church History
Call Number: REF BR 95 .P67 2013
The Blackwell Companion to the Theologians
Call Number: REF BR 118 .B48 2009
The Baker Atlas of Christian History
Call Number: REF BR 98 .D69 1997
A Dictionary of Christian Biography and Literature to the End of the Sixth Century A.D.: With an Account of the Principal Sects and Heresies
Call Number: REF BR 95 .S65 1994
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: REF BR 302.8 .O93 1996
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
Call Number: REF BL 2525 .Q44 2001
Atlas of American Religion: The Denominational Era, 1776-1990
Call Number: REF BR 515 .N49 2000
Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 1644 .E63 2006
Reese Chronological Encyclopedia of Christian Biographies
Call Number: REF BR 1700.2 .R36 2007

Subject Guide

Melanie Oestreich

Library of Congress

This will show you the call number ranges of books in the religion section. The Church History books are located in the BR subclass:

LC Classification for Religion

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2023 2:42 PM
URL: https://libguides.valleyforge.edu/churchhistory
Print Page

Subjects: Church History, Church Ministries, History, Theology

Tags: church_ministries, history, theology