Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available at the Library:
These books, plus many others, are available at our library:
Church Fathers and Their Writings
Early Church Fathers | Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library that contains the entire Ante-Nicene, Post-Nicene, and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers series, as well as other early church writings
Early Christian Writings: New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers
Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of documents from the first two centuries with translations and commentary. Includes the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, and Church Fathers.
Augustine of Hippo
This site contains texts and translations, commentaries, research materials and more about St Augustine.
Codex Sinaiticus, a manuscript of the Christian Bible written in the middle of the fourth century, contains the earliest complete copy of the Christian New Testament. The hand-written text is in Greek. This website is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience.
Early Christian History
From Jesus To Christ - The First Christians
This PBS program is available to watch at this website. It also includes scholars' commentary, maps, charts, ancient texts, picture os archaeological discoveries, and more.
Fourth Century Christianity
This website from Wisconsin Lutheran College is place that promotes and stores research tools and texts for the study of the Church and its environment in the Fourth Century.
The Early Christians in Their Own Words
This e-book is an anthology of collected writings of Christians living in early church communities. Each chapter contains material ranging from apologetic writing and confessions of faith to aphorisms, parables and poetry. Represented here are writers like Tertullian, Clement of Alexandria, and Paul of Tarsus. Historical and contextual notes offer background for each writing.
Medieval Church History
A History of the Crusades
Published by the University of Wisconsin Press, this six volume series was intended to serve as a collaborative and comprehensive treatment of the topic, ranging in time from the first 100 years of the Crusades to their ultimate impact on the histories of the Near East and Europe. The work is included here in its entirety.
Art for the Christian Liturgy in the Middle Ages
This article from the Metropolitan Museum of Art discusses the art of liturgical objects of churches of the Middle Ages. The site links to related essays, articles, and timelines.
Monasticism in Medieval Christianity
This article from the Metropolitan Museum of Art discusses the art of monasticism of the Middle Ages. The site links to related essays, articles, and timelines.
The Cistercians in Yorkshire
This website gives information about the Cistercian monks in Britain, their history, buildings, and practices.
This website is a scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 C.E.
History of the Orthodox Church
The Eastern Orthodox Church split from the Roman Catholic Church in 1054, and this website of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America tells the history of the Eastern Orthodox Church.
Mapping Margery Kempe: A Guide to Late Medieval Material and Spiritual Life
This website is a digital library of resources for studying the cultural and social matrix of The Book of Margery Kempe. Materials at this site include the Middle English text and related devotional writings and saints' lives; documents about daily life, politics and commerce in 15th century Lynn; maps of pilgrimage routes; a gallery of devotional images; and bibliography and guides for teaching.
Gnosticism, Non-Canonical Writings, and Heresies
Nag Hammadi Library
The Nag Hammadi Library, a collection of thirteen ancient codices containing over fifty texts, includes a large number of primary Gnostic scriptures such as the Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel of Philip, and the Gospel of Truth. While this site contains transcriptions of the codices it also is published by and contains commentary from the Gnostic Society, which has different theological beliefs than orthodox Christianity.
This website from the Wesley Center contains full text and commentary on apocryphal and pseudepigraphal literature.
This BBC radio program discusses who the Cathars were and why the church found them to be such a threat.
Waldensian History: A Brief Sketch
This website gives a summary of Waldensian history, spanning from its beginnings in the 1100s through the Inquisition, Reformation and to the modern day.
Secret Files of The Inquisition
This accompanying website to the PBS documentary has biographies, information on religious sects, and clips from the documentary.
The Dead Sea Scrolls
This website contains more than 5,000 images of parts of the Dead Sea Scrolls, including the Ten Commandments, Genesis, and 48 Psalms.