Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available at the Library:
These books, plus many others, are available at our library:
Books on Modern and Contemporary Christianity
Here is a list of recommended books on Modern and Contemporary Christianity:
Reformation and Counter-Reformation
The Morgan Gutenberg Bible Online
This presentation features digital, full-text images of the Gutenberg Old Testament along with commentary on its history and significance.
Project Wittenberg is home to works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans. Here you will find all manner of texts from short quotations to commentaries, hymns to statements of faith, theological treatises to biographies, and links to other places where words and images from the history of Lutheranism live.
The Trial of Martin Luther
This website from the University of Missouri School of Law has a chronology, primary documents, and much more on Martin Luther's 1521 trial.
Center for Reformation and Renaissance Studies
Hosted by the University of Toronto, the CRRC is a research center with a library devoted to the study of the period from approximately 1350 to 1700. Its web site contains links to sites useful for researchers working in the Renaissance and the Reformation and more.
The Trial of Sir Thomas More
This site from the University of Missouri School of Law has a collection of images, primary documents, trial reports, maps, and other materials relating to More's 1535 trial and execution.
The Council of Trent
This website has the full-text of the twenty-five sessions of the Council of Trent, as transcribed by the Hanover Historical Texts Project.
Christian History: Celebrating the 400th Anniversary of the King James Bible
This site is the full text of the entire magazine issue that focuses exclusively on the history of the King James Bible.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
This website from Calvin Theological Seminary is a select bibliography of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.
Revivalism and Missions
The Journal of John Wesley
Spanning some fifty-five years, John Wesley's voluminous Journal records the daily tribulations experienced in traveling the length and breadth of the British Isles in the 18th century. This site provides full-text content.
The Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University
This site is a digital learning environment for research, education and publication, that presents all of Edwards’s writings, along with editorial materials that allow the reader to examine Edwards' thought.
Selected Sermons of George Whitefield
This website has over 50 sermons from George Whitefield, and Anglican minister who helped spread the Great Awakening in Britain and North America, and who became the founder of Methodism and one of the main figures of the evangelical movement.
History of Missions
The History of Missions on the SRC's Intercultural Ministries LibGuide includes many resources on missions history, missionary biographies, the 1910 World Missionary Conference in Edinburgh.
American Religious History Resources
Divining America: Religion in American History
This site has links to essays by leading scholars on religion in American History, from the 17th through the 20th centuries, on almost every topic.
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
This site, by the University of NC and the Library of Congress, traces how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. It focuses on how the black community adapted evangelical Christianity, making it a metaphor for freedom, community, and personal survival.
Billy Sunday: Athlete and Evangelist
This website from the Library of Congress includes a timeline of Billy SUnday's life, as well as contemporary newspaper articles about him.
This site from the University of Missouri School of Law has a collection of images, biographies, accounts, and more from the 1925 case about teaching evolution in schools.