Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago/Turabian Format Style Guide: Papers, Lectures, and Manuscript Collections

This guide will assist in writing papers using the Chicago or Turabian style in the correct format as well as creating citations.

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations are cited much like books, except for the title, which is enclosed in quotation marks.  After the author and title, list the kind of paper, academic institution, and the date.  These are enclosed in parentheses in a note, but not in the bibliography.  

Abbreviate 'dissertation' as 'diss.'  

If you found the source online, include a URL.  If found in a database, you can list the database or repository instead.

Examples:

1. Guadalupe Navarro-Garcia, "Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership: A Study of African American and Black University Presidents" (PhD diss., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016), 44, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Bibliography: Navarro-Garcia, Guadalupe. "Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership: A Study of African American and Black University Presidents." PhD diss., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Lectures and Papers Presented at Meetings

Cite a lecture or a paper presented at a meeting with:

  • name of the speaker or presenter
  • the title of the speech (in quotation marks)
  • the sponsorship of the meeting
  • location of the meeting
  • date of the speech or presentation

Information about the meeting is enclosed in parentheses in a note, but not in a bibliography.  If the source is online, include a URL.  

Examples:

1. Viviana Hong, "Censorship in Children's Literature during Argentina's Dirty War (1976-1983)" (lecture, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, April 30, 2015).

2. Julie Leninger Pycior, "Trailblazers and Harbingers: Mexicans in New York before 1970" (paper presented at the 130th annual meeting of the American Historical Society, Atlanta, GA, January 8, 2016).

Bibliography: Carvalho Filho, Irineu de, and Renato P. Colistete. "Education Performance: Was It All Determined 100 Years Ago? Evidence from Sao Paulo, Brazil." Paper presented at the 70th annual meeting of the Economic History Association, Evanston, IL, September 24-26, 2010. https://mpra.ub.uni-muenchen.de/24494/1/MPRA_paper_24494.pdf.

Pamphlets and Reports

Cite a pamphlet, corporate report, brochure, or similar freestanding publication as you would a book.  Such sources should be cited only in notes.  Include in your bibliography if critical to your argument or frequently cited.  Sources found online should include a URL.

Examples:

1. Hazel V. Clark, Mesopotamia: Between Two Rivers (Mesopotamia, OH: Trumbull County Historical Society, 1957).

2. Elizabeth Hirschborn Donahue, ed., Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs: Annual Report 2014-15 (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, 2015), https://wws.princeton.edu/about-wws/wws-annual-report.

Manuscript Collections

Documents from collections of unpublished manuscripts involve more complicated and varied elements than published sources.  Include as much identifying information as possible, and adapt general patterns as needed.

If possible, include:

  • Author
  • Date
  • Title or type of document
  • Name of Collection
  • Name of Depository

If the document has a title, but no author, or the title is more important than the author, list the title first.

Examples:

1. George Creel to Colonel House, September 25, 1918, Edward M. House Papers, Yale University Library, New Haven, CT.

2. James Oglethorpe to the Trustees, January 13, 1733, Phillipps Collection of Egmont Manuscripts, 14200:13, University of Georgia Library, Athens (hereafter cited as Egmont MSS).

3. Burton to Merriam, telegram, January 26, 1923, box 26, folder 17, Charles E. Merriam Papers, University of Chicago Library.

 

Online Collections

Cite online manuscript collections in a similar fashion to print collections.  Include a URL for the items cited at the end of the citation.